Exercise 4

Part 1:

I chose to share my experience from a day of snowboarding with my family last year when I was home for Christmas break. I am including a lot of the time that was spent doing things, and the cost of almost everything used that day. Throughout the day there was the drive to and from the mountain, multiple times on the ski lift, the actual snowboarding, the eating in between, and the cost of food, the gas, and the ski ticket.

I have chosen 5 categories to look at this experience.

  1. Time spent in the car to and from the mountain= 40 minutes
  2. The time spent on the ski lift= 56 minutes
  3. Time spent snowboarding= 120 minutes
  4. The time spent eating food= 45 minutes
  5. Cost of food, the ticket, and the gas= 110$

I created a chart to show a more detailed way to compare and contrast the whole day.

graphSan Juan

Part 2:

During this particular day of snowboarding, I was snowboarding at Purgatory Mountain in Durango, Colorado with my family. Driving up to the mountain, surrounding me are all the mountains covered in snow of the San Juan Forrest. These mountains bring back old memories from my childhood because I saw these mountains so often growing up. Knight says, “Instead, anesthetic approach useful to composition studies shifts the emphasis from objects (texts, artifacts) to audience perception and meaning making with you and through those objects”(Knight, 153). Talking about my experience in a “how” and not a “what” is difficult. At the resort, I hear, the sounds of people, the snowboards and skis, and the lift, which is nothing new to me, I’m used to it. Being a small town and resort, I know a lot of people working there and there to ski. It’s a very lively and welcoming place that feels like home. While snowboarding, I am familiar with the runs and know where to go, everything around me is familiar from the look of the snow to the people surrounding me. It’s a comforting feeling everything about the experience. I’m not thinking about anything other than what run I want to do next. I am removed from all the stress I have throughout the whole day. After the day is done, as always, we are tired, and hungry and the drive home is relaxing and calm. I love snowboarding, I don’t do it as much anymore but I remember this particular day because I really realized how comforting and easy it was to do everything that the day involved.

Leave a comment